2012 – 2nd and 3rd Quarter Update

Posted on 18. Sep, 2012 by in News

Well, once again time has gotten away from us – we’re very busy working on some amazing records – to the point we’ve neglected the news updates. So here we go – a combined 2nd and 3rd quarter update

Just as we strive to help each artist achieve their sonic goals for each record, we also strive to find new ways to make things translate better across the many forms of media playback available to listeners today. One of the more recent introductions to the mastering community is Apple’s Mastered For iTunes (MFit), which enable participating engineers to audition what the iTunes codec will do to the music before sending it off to iTunes. This initiative allows Apple approved mastering facilities to create masters that will sound more like the higher-resolution masters (such as CD’s or DVDs) through the conversion process. As an approved facility, we were truly excited when Euphonic was asked to handle the MFiT mastering for the upcoming reissues of Emerson, Lake & Palmer’s debut album as well as the follow-up, Tarkus. Along with the complete original albums, there are previously unreleased and alternate takes as well, featuring mixes by Steven Wilson, all available on iTunes Sept 25th.

Anytime Don Gilmore calls you know it’s going to be a cool record, and this time is no different – Don and RCA Records recording artists Three Days Grace chose Euphonic to master their latest album, titled ‘Transit of Venus‘ (available Oct 2nd, pre-order here). Mixed by Chris Lord-Alge, this record rocks from top to bottom, and their first single, ‘Chalk Outline‘, has reached #1 on the Active Rock radio charts in only three weeks! Keeping the rock theme going, Art Alexakis brought the new Everclear album, ‘Invisible Stars‘, to Brad for the final bit of polish. Mixed by Bob Horn for E1 Music, this album is classic Everclear – check it out, it’s available now!

Long time clients Saving Abel had Brad put the finishing touches on their third album, ‘Bringing Down The Giant‘, produced and mixed by Skidd Mills at Skiddco Music. Continuing their radio success, their first single, also titled ‘Bringing Down The Giant‘,  shot up the charts and has enjoyed continued play since it’s release. Skidd was also the producer of the new 12 Stones album ‘Beneath The Scars‘, which was mixed by Johnny K and Mike Shipley. This album has had three #1 singles on Christian Rock radio already, so congrats to all involved! Johnny K also has Brad put the finishing touches on the new Tremonti Project live album, due out later this year. These guys are so tight, it’s hard to even tell the album was tracked live!

Classic rockers Drivin’ N Cryin’ sent their past project, ‘Songs About Cars, Space And The Ramones’ in for a bit of polish. This nod to the early DNC punk influences contains six songs produced by underground superhero Paul Ebersold and recorded in the legendary Sound Kitchen in Nashville. Brad was also asked to master Tooth and Nail Records artist The Almost’s new album, titled ‘Fear Inside Our Bones‘. Produced by Marshall Altmann and mixed by Craig Alvin, this album just drips with attitude and vibe. Johnny K also sent Brad the latest Nonpoint album – this self-titled project is due to be released on Oct 9th (pre-order here) and the first single is currently at # 25 on the Active Rock radio charts – keep an ear out for it! The dynamic duo of Johnny K and Brian Virtue also teamed up to help capture and create the latest All That Remains album, titled ‘A War You Cannot Win‘, due for release on Nov 6th (pre-order here). You can get a sampling of the new album with a free download of ‘Down Through The Ages‘, available at

It’s not all just rock-n-roll at Euphonic, though – Brad was chosen to put together the new two disc collection of tracks celebrating Kate Rusby’s twenty years making amazing music. Simply titled ‘20‘ this double-album is comprised of new recordings of Kate’s favorite songs from throughout her illustrious career and features guest appearances by Jerry Douglas, Ron Block, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Richard Thompson and many more. In addition, the collection also includes a new song called ‘Sun Grazers‘, on which she duets with Paul Weller. We’re very proud to have been a part of this amazing collection, due for release on Oct 22nd. We’re also thrilled that John Alagia sent Rachael Yamagata’s latest project to Brad for mastering – truly sensational performances and mixes! Rachel’s voice and playing truly shine through on these tracks, we’ll let you know as soon as we know when the release will be available!

We’ve been busy cutting quite a few singles as well, including the new Adelitas Way track, ‘Alive‘, produced by Dave Bassett & mixed by Chris Lord-Alge, Pop Evil’s latest single, ‘Purple‘, produced & mixed by Johnny K, the new Keith Harkin single, ‘Don’t Forget About Me‘, produced by David Foster & mixed by Dave Pensado, a killer collaboration between O.A.R. and B.o.B., titled ‘Champions‘, mixed by Jeff Juliano, the new The Cab single, ‘Endlessly‘, produced by John Feldmann, the new Avatar single, ‘Freakshow‘, mixed by Tobias Lindell at Bohus Studios, a brand new Big Tent Revival track called ‘Hope for America‘, produced by Paul Moak & mixed by J. Chris Griffin, as well as the latest Abandon Kansas single called ‘Turn It To Gold‘, produced by Dustin Burnett & mixed by J.R. McNeely.

We also had the opportunity to work with a ton of other amazing artists, cutting a new tracks for Travie McCoy, Wallpaper., K’NAAN, Jeff Kashiwa, The Dollyrots, Your Future Lovers, Building 429, Finding Favour, Carolyn Martin, Zach Myers, Jully Black, David Cook, Sie7e (feat. Ziggy Marley) along with many more!


Comments are closed.